First Test: Pakistan win toss, opt to bowl first against West Indies


KINGSTON: Pakistan captain Misbahul Haq won the toss and put the West Indies in to bat on the opening day of the first Test of the three-match series at Sabina Park in Jamaica on Friday.

West Indies are giving Test debuts to a pair of Guyanese batsmen, Shimron Hetmyer and Vishaul Singh, with middle-order batsman Jermaine Blackwood and medium-pacer Miguel Cummins omitted from the final XI.

Pakistan beat West Indies in third ODI to clinch series 2-1

Pakistan have resisted the temptation of including the uncapped Shadab Khan in their team as a second spinner in support of Yasir Shah, choosing instead to introduce Mohammad Abbas for his debut Test as a third pacer alongside Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Aamir.

This is the 50th Test between the two nations and also the 50th Test match to be played at Sabina Park in Kingston.

Shadab, Shahzad in for West Indies Tests

West Indies

Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Vishaul Singh, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Roston Chase, Devendra Bishoo, Alzarri Joseph, Shannon Gabriel.


Misbahul Haq (captain), Azhar Ali, Ahmad Shahzad, Babar Azam, Younus Khan, Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Abbas.

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

It takes only 5 seconds to share, If you care plz plz share, It help us to grow.



Top News